Zen

If there is a day, in which I am in desperate need of some Zen, today is that day…

imagesCAF1NR0I

Zen is a total state of focus that incorporates a total togetherness of body and mind. Zen is a way of being. It also is a state of mind. Zen involves dropping illusion and seeing things without distortion created by your own thoughts. (Thank you Urban Dictionary, you are so wonderful as always)
 
The Mac-Daddy of Zen is, that’s right, Buddha. I have always loved the ways of the Buddhist because its a belief in the world and all of it’s elements, it is not a faith. Now, I’m not proclaiming that I have no faith, because I do, I have a lot of it, as well as spirituality and soul… but the Buddhists are more open than any one certain faith, and I love that openness.
 
I am so zen…
This act of ‘being so zen’ translates to having complete and absolute peace. If this is something that you wish to achieve, as I wanted it so badly today, I made a list of things that I do to help me reach zen –
 
1. Get outside and get some fresh air!
     -I find that when I remove myself from the confinements of the indoors and place myself outside in the fresh air, with the elements of the Earth, I can reach a state of serenity and calm by closing my eyes, taking deep breaths, and doing a simple meditation of relaxing the mind and letting go of physical tension.
 
2. Smile at everyone I see or cross paths with!
     -A smile takes less energy than a frown. I swear! It’s completely true! Plus, smiling is a pleasant gesture to give and to receive. When I smile, I find my mind is quite calm and it actually relaxes my body naturally.
 
3. Take the time to do things slowly!
     -When I rush through my day, I miss so much. And what I don’t really even realize, is how much I actually miss, until I sit and think about it. Crazy how blind and asleep we actually are when we rush through things. Slow down, perform my tasks with care and discipline, and pace myself with open eyes!
 
4. Chew my food!
     -I am a lover of food, but, I must confess that I’ve had many meals that I threw down my throat. It’s nuts! When dinning out, or even better, when enjoying one of my own creations, chew slowly and take little bites. My food ain’t going anywhere, it’s there to nourish my body and for me to enjoy…. so….enjoy it!!!
 
5. Gratitude.
     -This is important to a day of zen. When the sun falls and the sky turns black and we are illuminated by the glow of the beautiful moon, take a minute to think about the things that you’re grateful for. Make a list or write them in a journal if ya wish… the point is, focusing on good, positive, things that I’m so grateful for, puts my mind in that peaceful place, rather than a place of negative resentment or regret! Yuck… So yes!! Honor what you’re grateful for, it makes me feel good every single time!
 
This is a special transmission from separating yourself from outside influences and stresses of life, and connecting with your inner spirit and mind, thus creating a sence of coolness and calm attained through the act of letting go and becoming aware of your mind, body and spirit.
 
imagesCA5XMM7I 
 
Yoga is like soup for the soul. I need to get some yoga back into my life… Yoga is a great way to reach zen!
 
Namaste’
~ Jen
 
Leave a Reply

