Daily Reflection on Tryst (02/02/13)

imagesCAJTL2BV 

 

Daily Reflection on Tryst (02/02/13)

 Great Expectations

 

Good Morning Tryst World!! I hope everyone is having a wonderful start to your weekends!! It’s still morning time here in the city and I’ve had a productive morning!! I can sense that I’m going to have a lot of energy this weekend, so I’m organizing my time in order to get everything I want and need to get done! The first thing on my daily ‘to-do’ list, is, of course, greeting all of you with my reflective words of the day. CHECK!

 Great expectations, just happens to be in my top three favorite books of all time. Charles Dickens is an amazing writer, and this is on e of the best love stories of all time, among many other things! Yes, I love this book, but I am not reflecting on Dickens’ novel or doing a book review here. Nope. I am talking about the expectations we have… the expectations we put on others… what happens when we expect things… what about when those expectations don’t get met…?

 Yesterday, I was talking to a friend of mine, who called me up for some friendly nourishment. This guy is such a wonderful guy, good spirit and all, and he’s going through a hard time right now. Not to air dirty laundry, that’s all I will say… but in the midst of our conversation he said, ‘So, I expected to have that when I was done…’. After hearing his expectation, my immediate rebuttal was this:

 When we put expectations on anyone or anything, and they don’t get met, what happens? We are immediately disappointed! And disappointment really sucks! You say, ‘Awe man!’, you’re down in the dumps, maybe you cry a little, whatever your reaction to an un-met expectation is, disappointment is its catalyst!!

 It’s Saturday Tryst Family… let’s see where the day takes us! Today, let’s not put any big expectations out there! Let’s not put all of our wants/needs on the shoulders of others, making them responsible for bringing us disappointment if our expectations were not met!!

 Great Expectations is a great novel by Charles Dickens! Great Expectations we create in our lives, may lead to Great Disappointments!!

 

Expect not today, and you won’t suffer from being let down!

 Have a beautiful day! ~ Jen

 

Leave a Reply

