Foolish Regret – Fictional Dialogue on Tryst

Hot-Pink-Room1

Foolish Regret

Fictional dialogue on Tryst

As tears welled up in my eyes, I knew right then that I had to tell her.

“I just want you to know how sorry I am. I never meant for this to happen. I never meant for you to get hurt, ever! I am not this person. I can’t believe I let it get this far. Kelley, I am so terribly…..”

 She cut me off and said, “I am sorry too.”

 I stared back in disbelief.

 “I’m sorry for the whole thing,” Kelley Continued “I’m sorry he left you and fell in love with me. I am sorry I ever met him. Most of all I’m sorry that he cheated on me with you and that I ignored it for so long.”

 I didn’t know what else to say.

The damage was done.

Hearts were broken.

 I got up and walked away from Kelley’s table, away from the guilt, the tears, and the apology that I left looming over the table-cloth.

 “What a fool I am…” I said aloud to myself, as I pushed the door to the cafe open, and walked out onto the street.

 ~ J. Lefever ~

 

 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
2 responses to “Foolish Regret – Fictional Dialogue on Tryst

    • Thanks miss D! I am going to continue writing ‘The Job’ , part 2 coming soon.. But after I finished this one, there is a lot brewing in my mind for this as well. But I don’t want too much to follow, I don’t want Tryst to get lost in too many things, so I’ll pick one for right now and keep just that one going. ~Jen …until I start another! Right! So much to write, so little time…

Leave a Reply

