Definition of a Friend

Definition of a Friend

4292562114816078_PnlIw15O_b

 

Life can come and bring you down

Just as often as it takes you up

We don’t always get to pick our falls

Even if we have had enough

 

Those are the times

When you turn to reach

To a heart & soul

Who will praise and teach

 

To a someone who has been

A true promise kept

A someone who held on

In moments that you have wept

 

This someone is so much more

We know will be there in the end

This someone is someone we love too

So we choose to call them a friend

 

To be a called friend is such a great honor

It’s not to be misused

It doesn’t belong to those who have lied

Or left you sad and bruised

 

A friend understands and knows

They love unconditionally

A friend is there in good and bad

No matter what respectfully

 

A friend chooses you and not your battles

They stand with you in the rain

They are calm when your mind rattles

By your side they with stand your pain

 

A friend stays honest

Even when you’re not around

You can believe they tell you

To your face, whispering the same sounds

 

You shouldn’t question or fear

The one you call your friend

When giving the gift of that single word

Give it to who will stay to the end

 

~~ J. Lefever ~~

(02/12/13)

 

There are some, personal reasons why I needed to write this today… I think that the word ‘Friend’ is used to carelessly today. Maybe even too much, too often. Because the meaning and the honor and the value that goes with that word, is a big deal. People need to work as hard on their friendships as they do a romantic relationship. Just like in love, friendships have love too. And that love needs to listen, share, respect, honor, believe, support, help, be thoughtful of, stand by, pick up, push to grow, help to get better, laugh, cry, hold, trust, smile, give, receive, be truthful, understand, and so much more. What does a friend mean to you? What do you need in your friends? Do you give your friends what they give you, and vise-versa, are your friends as good to you as you are to them?

To be called a friend is a big deal.

It’s not something I label just everyone. I put a lot of meaning and honor behind that word when I choose to use it.

 

 

 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication

 

14 responses to “Definition of a Friend

  1. I cannot agree with this enough. Your true friends are not those who stand by you at your best, but the who stand by you at your worst.

    Something I’ve taken into realization over the past couple months. Now, my friends are few and far between.

    • I have learned that I used the word ‘friend’ too loosely in my past. I called too many people a ‘friend’ when rather, they were only an ‘acquaintence’.

      There is nothing wrong with being someone’s ‘acquaintence’, nothing at all, but to be someone’s friend is an honor. To have a friend is a gift. Friendship is a gift that should be cherished.

  2. I totally agree, and you just reminded me how important I should care for those few (too few) real friendships. Now, if you don’t mind, I’ve got a few friends to call right away… 😉

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the subject,

    Éric

    • Awe, well, see!! This is exactly why I write my little Tryst Reflections! If I can touch just one person then I’ve fulfilled my purpose!!

      Yes! Friends are important. Real friends!! I’m glad you liked this Eric! ~J

    • Let me think.. Ok! I thought! I do consider you a friend Hotspur. For sure! My friendships are very important to me. I cherish and value people very much. I put a lot into my relationships, my friendships. I treat others the way I want to be treated. I did not choose the right people for friendships in the past. My life is so different now. I have great people in my life, and you are one of them! Definately! ~J

Leave a Reply

