The City

The City

A Piece from the Inside

imagesccc

 

Tryin’ to walk on water

Becoming that much stronger

The streets are destroying my mind…

Visions of bad wishes,

Is all that I find…

 

Take my hand

I will set you free

So the blackness says to me

 

Shaken in the bridge that I stand upon

Fear is the reality that I run from

Ghetto metropolis, I ask in need

Like the stranger on the bus, who

Has nothing to eat

Stand with your hand out and see

If the city feeds you

 

City has nothing for me

 

~~ J. Lefever ~~

(02/22/12)

 

I haven’t written a piece for the Heroin Journals in a while.

This piece is not something I wrote today, however, but it is one of my favorites.

I wrote this from the inside. About a year ago…

 

imagesCAU8CT9Btryst

 
 ©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
4 responses to “The City

  1. I have such wonderful editing skills!! No, it’s not my lack of skills, it’s that I’m always in a rush. Rush to get everything done, rush to post my next piece… So, I need to slow it down, and do some editing to avoid silly mistakes on an otherwise perfect piece.. see, the line clost to the botton that says,

    ‘Stand with YOUR hand out and see..’

    Well, that’s what it’s supposed to be…
    🙂

    • Thank you very much!! This is one of my personal favorites. I put a lot of meaning in it. These are few words, but describe some very deep emotion for me. I am happy to have you on Tryst! ~Jen

Leave a Reply

