Evening Reflection on Trystღ (02/24/13)

Evening Reflection (02/24/13)

 imagesCALRW9NH

Slap Happy

Buenos Noches Tryst Familla!! It is bitter cold here!! Burr!! And just like that, in the blink of an eye, the weekend is over. Time goes by so fast, I mean, faster & faster everyday it seems!! I was out shopping for food yesterday afternoon and the cashier at the market looked at me and said, ‘Can you believe it is almost March!?’  I looked at her and shook my head. Seriously, where does the time go?

This really got me thinking… (Nah, me thinking? I know, I know, I’m always thinking… and stressing, for that matter… stressing more than thinking, so…) I guess I should say, this really got me stressing, stressing about my life!! I need to get some serious motivation here because time is slipping away, my life is getting further along every minute, and I’m not working hard enough on the things I have planned for myself. When I say this, it gets me depressed, and frustrated with myself, and to be honest, I’m in a really good mood tonight!! So, while I entertain these thoughts, I’ll push them to the side for now and think about realistic things. This means, not getting overwhelmed looking at the whole picture, but small steps that will get me to the place, and the things, I want for myself. Yep. Small steps, small goals… be realistic Jen…

Back to the slapping of the happiness. Have you ever heard the term ‘Slap happy?’ Well, it’s like when you are suddenly surged with this instantaneous burst of happy energy!! I got me some slap happy tonight!! It just came out of nowhere!! I got a boost of feel good and I’m smiling and my husband is looking at me like I did something bad!! (Ha-ha) Sometimes, when I drink wine, I get the slap happy, but that’s induced by the kind of buzz that is associated to wine. (Different kind of buzz compared to other kinds of alcohol, I think) Anyway, since I’m not sipping on a Chablis or Chardonnay right now, I conclude that I got a boost of natural slap happy!! And what’s so wrong with that? 🙂

Tonight, as the weekend ends, and I have thoughts swimming in my mind about the fast-moving pace of time, which is something we all have to live with, and something that none of us can stop, control or change, I;m slapped in the face with the reality that I’m not getting any younger. Obviously. And I have some serious unfinished business to attend to.

I saw a movie on TV earlier, something my husband was watching, about a crew who worked on a sail boat. Boats are a serious passion of mine. My grandpa was a Merchant Marine in WW2, and his love for boats was passed on to me. He had me at 2 years old, sitting on his lap, while he drove his boat around the big lake. I have loved boats ever since then. Well, I’ve sailed on the ocean, and this movie was another reminder of just how much I desire living on the ocean… and yes, having a beautiful boat!!

When you know what you want, you know what you need to do to get it. The way I see it is, I’m lucky to know what I want in my life. That’s half the battle right there!! There are people still trying to figure that out, trying to find what their heart desires. Well, I’m grateful to know my desires. I need to work harder on my motivation and doing what I need to get there. Indeed Jen…

Tonight I reflect on these things:

1. Slap happiness can come from other things, not just alcoholic beverages.

2. Time is slipping away, so get on it!

3. Knowing your hearts desires is half the battle.

4. Motivation is the only thing that will get me moving towards those desires!

5. Get on it! I’m not getting anywhere sitting on my ass talking about it…

I hope this slap of happiness doesn’t keep me up all night…

Have a great night Tryst Family!! ~ Jen

39054721738669359_TYJWUvmR_b

©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
16 responses to “Evening Reflection on Trystღ (02/24/13)

    • This is so true.. I’ve written on the subject of time before.. A piece called, ‘TIME’. It is one of the first pieces I wrote on Tryst!! You can find it by searching TIME in my search box. (I’m too lazy to post link, Ha)
      …Shanking my head!!))

    • Oh my gosh.. so many things!! There are so many things I want to do with myself. My two biggest dreams are to be published, and open a restaurant. I have three books I’m currently working on, …working on, right? I don;t know what is holding me back, fear, I guess. As for my restaurant, I’m a great Chef but industry is bad right now, ecenomy & all.. So that’s put on hold for a while. I’m trying to get things all wrappeed up here in KC so I can move down to South Florida. I want to get another degree, maybe even my Masters at FIU, and, live by the ocean, and buy a big ass boat…

      I could keep going here… how much time do you have??
      XO

      • Um, you probably need to focus on one thing at a time. Running a restaurant and being a writer are two full-time jobs. You may have to pick one and work on it while excluding the other.

      • OK Dad!! (My dad tells me the same thing!!) But you’re right. Running a restaurant is a ton of work. I know this because I’ve run them before, just never as the owner. I worked in that industry for 16 years, my whole working life. It’s all I know, really. I kind of miss it sometimes, but I also really enjoy just going out to eat now, and not doing that kind of work AT ALL!! As for the writing, now that is in my heart. Such a passion, a love, it comes easy, it doesn’t feel like work, but with anything one creates, is it good? good enough? I almost question myself, in that, am I not finishing my books because I’m afraid of rejection? But, I have a hard shell. I’ve felt rejection before. I used to walk on a runway for some designers, quite famous ones too, when I was 19-20 yrs old. There are auditions that come with that kind of work that will lead to feeling rejected, and I handled that OK. So why do I fear it with my writing? Maybe it’s a deeper passion, I don’t know. What I do know is this, I will die a happy, satisfied woman, if I got to be a published writer! That is a fact, my friend!!

      • Well, it seems to me you should pursue your writing then if that’s where you heart lies. Every successful writer has been rejected. That’s how you find out where you need to improve. Also, you’ll never get published if you never submit anything.

        I’ll let the dad comment slide. For now… 😉

      • Right right.. I hear you.. (letting it slide..)
        You are right again.. it’s constructive criticism getting rejected!! It’s like great free advice, right? Something to learn and build from. I submitted something once. Was rejected by the publisher. I have not submitted anythihg since then. And, this was years ago, when my writing was terrible!! I look back over that one manuscript I submitted and it’s just terrible!! I can say with confidence that I’ve improved tremendiously since then…

      • Oh thank you!! I know I’m better than 10 years ago.. if that means anything.

        Yes, fiction. And I’d really like to write a memior, inspired from someone I know… I have the memoir started, 10 chapters in actually, and a couple works of fiction as well. But like I said, something hiolds me back…

      • Is it time? Fear? Posting so much? Just kidding. Honestly, I’ve read a couple of your fiction pieces and I thought they were great. If you want, maybe you could post a sample on my blog and perhaps ask for feedback?

      • Yes!! I would love some feedback!! I have been down in a little emotional hole lately, and busy with work obligations, so I haven’t written for Stuph yet. I hope you know that I am so excited/flattered/honored/ that you added me as a writer!! You have such a large audience and I’m anxious to post on Stuph!! I just haven’t written anything yet… I won’t post any poetry, that deep stuff is for Tryst. But I will be posting soon my sweet friend, soon… 🙂

Leave a Reply

