Daily Reflection on Trystღ (03/04/13)

Daily Reflection (03/04/13)

 imagesCAZSV4GZ

Taking Insults…

With Mrs. Williams & Her Cranky Side Kick

 

 It’s Monday alright. Monday. Monday. Monday.

 I decided to cruise through McDonald’s this morning on my way into work. I don’t normally get breakfast out. I like my coffee and fruit or cereal at home in my own kitchen, but I was running a little late, so I decided to grab something quick on my way in. I was late for work anyway. Seems to be a pattern these days… chronic tardiness… which is not a normal characteristic of mine. In fact, I hate to be late. It makes me a little crazy!! I’ve always been very punctual, my whole life I’ve been this way. But with the recent ‘things’ I’ve been going through inside, it has rendered me a chronic late person, which makes me look bad… like I don’t care about my job, or don’t give a shit about being on time and having good work ethic… which ALL of these things are so completely far from being true, yet, I’m still lagging behind a little. (Making a slightly confused, thinking really hard face…) I wonder what this tardiness is all about anyway? Maybe it’s just a condition of my sad Seasonal Depression shit that I’m hoping is almost over. To be honest, I feel alright today, and I am beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel. (thankfuckinggod)

 

In lieu of the wonderful spirit of Monday Madness, and my bag of McDonald’s breakfast, I roll into the parking lot and decide to park my car next to the dealership, instead of in the parking lot across the street. We are supposed to park across the street, so all our cars don’t block spaces for customers, but it’s very cold, I just don’t feel like trudging my bag, paperwork, planner, bag of McDonald’s breakfast, and a drink across the street. Yeah. I’m in that kind of mood. That too will pass. I don’t normally act entitled, but I’m thinking that entitlement might also be a condition of Seasonal D. (Coming up with lots of excuses for my abnormal behavior today, aren’t I?)

 

So, I’m sitting here, enjoying my breakfast at my desk, while I punch my login name and password into the system, pretending to start my day here. A few bites later, a customer comes up to pay for her car, which has had its oil changed and tires rotated. A simple procedure that we perform everyday here, not anything unusual. As she is going to pay, I ask her to please sign the invoice for our accounting department, and she looks at the page and says that we have her address recorded wrong at the top, left of the page underneath her husband’s name. (This lady was prob. early 60’s) I apologize, tell her that we would be happy to update her information, once I close the invoice, I can go back and change her information. Well, Hell No!! She wasn’t signing anything!! NO!! NO!! I needed to change her info NOW and kiss her ass because of the great insult that I have caused her!! How insulting, she kept saying… I have just really insulted her, beyond belief!! (As my temper fuse gets shorter and shorter… I slap the most sarcastic of sarcastic smiles on my face… I mean really, if you knew me, you’d know how ‘animated’ I can be… this was one sarcastic smile!!)

 

We had to void the invoice. Re-write it. We realized that we didn’t have her info wrong, but we had the wrong customer name all together. No harm done, right? It was an honest mistake. It’s just a $30 oil change & tire rotation anyway, not a $2,000 engine job!! So, my sarcastic smile and I apologized to this lady and told her that we certainly didn’t mean to ‘insult’ her. I informed her that we have been in business for 32 years, which means we have a HUGE customer database in our system, and for that matter, we have about two hundred people with her last name!! Mrs. Williams mumbled some things, ‘Well, I just think…’ blah, blah.. Whatever lady!! Seriously!! You really think that you are the only Mrs. Williams running around this planet!?!?!? With such a common last name, you’d think this wasn’t the first time she went somewhere, and there was more than one Williams in the area… Really lady?

 

Thanks for making my Monday, Monday for real, right? She was my first customer interaction. My forehead hurts from the sarcastic smile/frown I had plastered on my face for this entire ordeal, and my breakfast is cold.

 

Lesson here is, don’t take life so damn seriously!! People make honest mistakes throughout the course of their day and most of which, I’m sure, are not a direct attack on you!!

 

Happy Monday Tryst Family!!

 

I hope you all have a super fantastic day!! Don’t let anyone rustle up your feathers!! And smile for goodness sake!! Sheesh…

 

~ Jen

 

Tryst Thought: There is a huge difference in what insults people who have a life, and those who don’t. It’s quite obvious when someone has too much time on their hands… yes I’m talking about you Mrs. Williams, you and your cranky side kick ya had with ya!!

imagesCASAG4XZ 

 
 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
 
 
 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

