Waterless Tears

imagesCAC8MWGW
 
Waterless Tears
 
Rendered powerless against time
I have become what I never wanted
Waterless tears have run dry
Numb is my constant state of mind
 
Wanting not what I have
I cannot escape the truths of my day
Warmth is but a distant memory
Smile is empty when I look to you
 
Finger tips in the water of the river
Flowing against the currents of time
Running from a place I knew
Forgetting everything I thought was mine
 
Echo echo, in the dark
I am standing here
I feel like I’m falling apart
Into a pool of waterless tears
 
All the times I cried for you
Just to be stripped bare of my identity
Once I stood so tall & strong
Now so little is left of me
 
I never thought my tears could run dry, oh
My heart has made a fool out of me
Waterless tears, an empty soul
Wasteland as far as the eye can see
 
~ J. Lefever ~
(03/08/13)
 
imagesCAKI3ZRG
 
 

 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
 
 
 
 

 
10 responses to “Waterless Tears

Leave a Reply

