Slither

 
a388916ebecf065d054a38be3b3e8b70
 
Slither
 
Like a snake in the garden
You are unwanted
Slithering through the green
Around you, like
You belong
Something holds me back from
Telling you so,
Fear
Oh I’m sure
Afraid of your poisonous bite
Poison seeping through its victims
Veins, crawling and killing
Until all that is left is
Its weak abandon
Shell of a girl I once was
You have taken everything
From me
Left me weak & alone
Many nights, tears fall in sadness
Wonder as to why
I was the victim of your
Own demise
As you came to me
Your poison came to
There was no escaping
Your reality
Like the snake that you are
Poisoning my delicate soul
Only to make me like you
But, listen
My heart will never be like you
My heart will never be black and blue
I am the sun that takes over the cloudy day
Eventually my light will
Be too bright for you
And just like you came
You will slither away
As empty as you arrived
Seeking someone to suffocate
 
~ J. Lefever ~
Written sometime in March…
 
723143cbf085f627dabdd871a9c68615 
 

 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
2 responses to “Slither

Leave a Reply

