No Such Luck ~ Trifecta on Tryst

No Such Luck

 2e609f6ab56bd73837e24298a51fb45e

Days turned into weeks. Weeks became months. My soul had become as grey as the winter outside of my window. Flowers arrived daily, along with cards, candy and stuffed animals. Mostly stuffed bunnies because my dad told everyone that they were my favorite, ever since I was a child.

The thing is, I am not a child anymore. I am not old either. I am thirty-one years old and I’m laying here dying of cancer. I know that I’m supposed to be positive, but for what? We have tried everything. Every treatment possible. But the cancer grows, inside of me, like an unwanted villain. Putting an expiration date on me like I’m something disposable, something gone rotten if not used up quick enough. Am I rotten on the inside?

Some of my friends have started to visit me less. Maybe it’s because of the haze of gloom that hangs around me like the fog over the city. Maybe because my once positive, pulsating personality is now that of a cynical pessimist. I don’t blame them. But it makes me feel like my disease is contagious. I am not contagious!

I hear of people who beat this. Oprah had someone on her show just last week. I watched the show while I lay here dying, wanting to throw something at the T.V. and break it, break it like my life has been broken, break it like my family is now broken, break it like my spirit which is broken!

Why couldn’t have I been that person? Why couldn’t I have been so lucky?

~ J. Lefever

*********

 

This is a Trifecta Piece – Week Seventy

Picture11-1

LUCKY (adjective)

1: having good luck
2: happening by chance : fortuitous
3: producing or resulting in good by chance : favorable

Please remember:

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words. 
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post. 
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response. 
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above. 
  • Only one entry per writer. 
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz. 
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us. 

Good luck!

This week’s word is lucky.  

**********

 100184c5e88d0e028e7a645b7fdd5901

©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication

 

 

46 responses to “No Such Luck ~ Trifecta on Tryst

    • Yes. Fiction it is… but real for some people… Bless all beautiful spirits who struggle and fight this reality ❤

      Thank you for reading!! Come by Tryst and time!! XO ~ Jen

    • Indeed. My sweet mom had a cancer scare but beat it. It really can go both ways. Such a confusing part of life. How one can overcome the disease and another does not. 😦 Makes me very grateful for my healthy life and for my mom. Thank you for reading!! XO ~ Jen

    • Thank you darling! It is a work of fiction. Trifecta fiction… but sadly, this is a reality for many. May our hearts go out to those who suffer from this ddisease.

      Thank you for reading and come by Tryst anytime!! XO ~ Jen

    • Thank you. I had a cancer scare with my mom a couple years ago. So, I am familiar with the feelings. Not first hand, though. But I can imagine… Thank you for stopping by Tryst!! Come read anytime!! XO ~ Jen

  1. Jen, my first time here, thanks to Trifecta; I put in a post as well. I’m SO glad I checked the tags to realize this was fiction! Yet a close friend died of cancer a few weeks back, and she was known to throw stuff at the TV for all the same reasons. Difference was, I kept visiting. It’s really an honor to be welcome at that bedside, because friends who are really friends stay, you know?

    You caught the feelings and even the dark humor of her. Good writing. Glad I stopped by. Peace, Amy

    • I am glad you came by Tryst too Amy! Thank you for reading. I am really enjoying writing for Trifecta and including it on Tryst. I have some experience with cancer, not my personally, but my mother. I can relate to some of the feelings & fears. Come visit me anytime!! XO ~ Jen

    • Thank you! I have some personal experience with this. My mother had cancer a few years ago. She was one of the lucky ones. We are truly blessed. Thank you for the feedback!! I think you are right! I appreciate constructive criticism very much!! Come by Tryst & read anytime!! Happy to have you here! ~ Jen

  2. What a heart breaking yet realistic piece!One can so easily visualize oneself in the narrator’s place & can identify with the narrator’s frustration at life being unfair!Excellent piece of writing!

Leave a Reply

