Carnival

imagesCAAAJIF5
 
Carnival
 
The colors of the carnival
Danced in front of my eyes
Playing tricks
Magical tricks
Of the most wicked kind
 
Luring me into
The corners of the unknown
I take tiny steps
In fear of the moment
Questioning the intention of you
 
Life is a parade
Of my success & failures
On constant display
For all the world
To see… the parade of me
 
Or is it a stage show
With real words and moments
Acted out by me
Tears and music
All my sadness and joy
 
In this carnival
Of my life dancing before my eyes
My spark is momentarily gone
Busy with the pain I’ve been given
Distracted by the mistakes of my youth
 
Today I fell
Into the dirty water
I allowed myself to sink
To the bottom of nothing
Once again, I too feel like nothing
 
There are days
When I hate some things about life
Truth & realities
I question, Why
Reasons I hide
 
There are times
When I laugh at everything
All that I see
Is beautiful and kind
Reasons to be alive
 
And then the carnival
Comes back to town
With its tricks and shows of magic
Playing and toying with my mind
Making me live through
Moments not of my choice
Forcing my eyes to see things
So sad it steals my own voice
 
Who am I
But a heart given to you
You come along
With your poisons
And break me too
 
So much I
Would never have seen
If I never had you
In the carnival’s
Nightmarish-Dream
 
~J. Lefever~
(04/02/13)
 
*****
 imagesCAKJ9JNC
 
 
©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
 
 
 
22 responses to “Carnival

  1. Really like this. I heard Carnival by Natalie Merchant a couple of days ago. These two go well together.

    • Thanks TD!! I got so much on my mind right now… it is overflowing with shit because I left the city, went to my lake house last weekend, left my LT at home and had a few, slightly forced, day’s off writing on Tryst… So, as you can imagine, my over-articulate and exceedingly verbal mind is off the charts!! (Got that all out in one long run-on sentence..) 🙂

  2. Pingback: Track Bids

  3. Can I just say what a relief to discover someone who really knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You really know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people have to read this and realize this side from the story. I cant feel youre not additional well-known mainly because you actually have the gift.

  4. Pingback: how to win on quibids

Leave a Reply

