When The River Runs Dry

 

63c247862a5b4651d9ec6f7e32abe43e

When The River Runs Dry

 

When the world is waiting

For the trees to come alive

And the rivers are flowing

Into the meadows of serenity

 

My patient soul is bare

Open and exposed in the air

As I wait to bloom

I am waiting for you

 

The City is under water

Some people are still floating

Trying to save us all

Even as my ignorance is showing

 

When the river runs dry

I will bring you nourishment

Feeding the earth my soulshine

Under the skies of blue

 

Sitting on the banks of despair

Leaves fall into the stream

The world has become hushed

Listen to the rhythm it dreams

 

We all share a spirit

Wanting warmth and safety inside

Even as a brave young woman

Sometimes I go places to hide

 

In the end I hope for solstice

Rebirth of the spirit in me

When the river runs dry, I’ll be there

Giving light to everything you see

 

~J Lefever~

(04/26/13)

 

*****
 
imagesCAJZ4VYS
 
 ©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
 
 
4 responses to “When The River Runs Dry

  1. Pingback: Dustclouds And Raindrops – A Saturday Poetry Post | Lyrical Anarchy

Leave a Reply

