All That Remains

All That Remains

ac7280c3dfe6038652406dbd0584280f

A moment in time

Words are like thunderstorms

The exchange we make

In attempt only to poison another

What does that say

About the people we are

When we seek to sabotage

Hurt and drown

Someone we love?

It comes like a thousand knives

I can’t shake the feeling

Up all night with anxiety

Dripping in your

Painful exchange

Falling asleep with swollen eyes

Tears of exhaustion

Finally put me to rest

But a troubled sleep it is

With your words in my mind

Trying to open your eyes

To the way things have become

Still

You come at me like

I am your enemy

May I remind you

I am only a piece of you

Your heart made mine

So why are you breaking it

apart

We have suffered a great loss

It is hard to keep going

Made even harder

With your anger choking us

Once there was unity

Now we stand divided

When all that remains

Is the anger we hide in

What do we have left

Am I the only one trying

To keep us in light

And live instead of dying

But then comes a new sun

And your words pierce my heart

Inside I am still crying

Because we are falling apart

~ J. Lefever ~

(04/26/13)

*****
imagesCAJZ4VYS
 
 ©Think. Speak. Tryst. Publication
One response to “All That Remains

Leave a Reply

